The British Empire in Colour
Loading advertisement...
Preload Image
Up next

Bowling for Columbine

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars6 Stars7 Stars8 Stars9 Stars10 Stars
Rating: 6.77 from 13 votes.

The British Empire in Colour

The British Empire in Colour is a three-part series that chronicles the rise, fall and legacy of the British Empire. As its title implies, this retrospective tells much of its story through coloured film recordings, coupled with narration of the filmed portions and of correspondence between the British Crown and its colonies.

The first part of the series covers the decline of the British Empire from its former might, addressing how it handled global events like World War II. The second part of the series covers the fall that resulted from the loss of colonies and territories within Africa and India and skirmishes with Communist nations. The final part of the series covers the legacy that resulted from the events of the first two parts, such as the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II, the transition from intercontinental empire to commonwealth and the expanded freedom of Australia and Canada.

Notify of

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments